To main text

Handling of Personal Information

Our websites (hereinafter, referred to as “Website”) use cookies and tags to provide you with a better website experience, advertising based on your browsing habits, and to understand what Website is being used for, and for statistics and measurement purposes. By clicking ‘I Accept’, or clicking on Website, you agree to such purposes and the sharing of your data with our trusted partners . Please see Cookie Policy for further information including withdraw of consent at any time.
Please refer to Privacy Policy of the Tokyo Metropolitan Foundation for History and CultureOpen in a different window for the handling of personal information.

I Accept

Explore Events

Spring Festival in Tokyo 2020 [CANCELED & LIVE-STREAMING without an Audience for the program at 18:00 (Free of charge)] [Spring Festival in Tokyo] The Ninth Wave - Ode to Nature "Beethoven" Hearing with Eyes, Seeing with Ears

Please visit here for further details and inquiries on the concert live-streaming without an audience.

Date Sat, Mar 14, 2020 [CANCELED & NO LIVE-STREAMING] 14:00 (Open 13:30)
Sat, Mar 14, 2020 [CANCELED & FREE LIVE-STREAMING] 18:00 (Open 17:30)

Tokyo Bunka Kaikan Recital Hall

Genre Concert


Writer/Director: Stefan Winter

Composer: Fumio Yasuda


Piano for four Hands:Ferhan & Ferzan Önder

Improvised Piano:Fumio Yasuda

Clarinet:Joachim Badenhorst

Bass Clarinet:Gareth Davis

Viola:Tetsuya Hayashi, Mari Adachi

Art of Noise and Sound:Aki Tsujita, Ichiro Hosoya


Producer: Mariko Takahashi(Neue Klangkunst gGmbH)


The information has been changed from the initial announcement.


The Ninth Wave

Ode to Nature

Sound Art after Ludwig van Beethoven


[PART I] Infinite Blue

1. Water and Air (after Meeresstille und glückliche Fahrt [Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage], Op.112)

2. Afterlife (after Sonata for Piano No.30, Op.109)

3. Seafoam (after String Quartet No.14, Op.131 and Great Fugue, Op.133)


[PART II] Deep Green

1. Forest (after “Fidelio”–Prisoners’ Choir)

2. Wandering (after Symphony No.5, Op.67–2nd movement)

3. Under the Waterfall (after Missa Solemnis, Op.123–Benedictus)


[PART III] Zone Red

1. At the Bank of the River Styx (after Symphony No.7, Op.92–2nd movement)

2. Red Rain (after “Fidelio”–Prisoners’ Choir)

3. The Great Wave (after Symphony No.9 op.125–4th movement ‘Ode to Joy’)


Prices (tax included)

S5,000yen A3,500yen Under-26s 1,500yen

On Sale Date

Sun, Dec 15, 2019

Other Information



Spring Festival in Tokyo Executive Committee